Sweet Tooth by Zoe Smith

Thank you to everyone who has been asking how my dad is.  I’m glad to say he’s home from hospital now and normal service will (hopefully!) be resumed shortly.

The thing that has been dominating my thoughts over the last week is my diet!  I need to make sure I am able to weigh in at exactly 58kg (or hopefully a little less) by the date of my next competition in Sweden in 2 weeks.

Although my diet is always reasonably healthy, I do have rather a sweet tooth which means that I can gain weight quite easily if I’m not being careful.  I’m particularly partial to chocolate and flavoured milkshakes, but I’m having to be very strict with myself at the moment and am trying to cut things like that out altogether.

I’m very lucky that I am able to benefit from the advice of Martin MacDonald, the World Class Lifting Nutritionist.  He advises me to eat around 5 small meals a day, mostly made up of protein with plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables and a small amount of carbohydrates.  The other big advice is for me to drink PLENTY of water, which is something I’ve never been very good about – but I’m getting better with practice!

People ask why I don’t add in some cardio work to my training regime to help burn off some extra calories, but I am strongly advised by my coach NOT to do this as he honestly believes it would weaken my strength for weightlifting so that doesn’t make weight loss any easier.

I’ve just under 2kg still to lose which doesn’t sound like much, but I’m sure most people know how it’s always the last little bit that is the hardest to shift.

Wish me luck!

0 Responses to “Sweet Tooth by Zoe Smith”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

